New Zealand ASEAN Scholar Awards

The New Zealand-ASEAN Scholar Awards (NZAS) recognise New Zealand’s close cultural, economic, and geographic ties with Southeast Asia. They seek to empower individuals with the knowledge, skills and qualifications to contribute to the economic, social, and political development of their region. NZAS are offered for postgraduate level study.

NZAS are funded by the New Zealand Aid Programme, the New Zealand Government’s international aid and development programme. They are managed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Criteria for awards for Brunei and Singapore are set by Victoria University of Wellington. Please click the country pages for Brunei and Singapore for details.

Countries Eligible for New Zealand ASEAN Scholar Awards

Applications for NZAS are welcome from the following countries. For more information about priority sectors, follow the links to the scholarship information page for your country.

Brunei  I  Cambodia  I Indonesia  I  Lao PDR  I  Myanmar  I   Malaysia  I Philippines  I  Singapore  I  Thailand  I  Vietnam