Commonwealth Scholarships

The Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) is an international programme under which member governments offer scholarships and fellowships to citizens of other Commonwealth countries.

The CSFP was established at the first Commonwealth education conference in 1959 and is reviewed by education ministers at their triennial meetings. The CSFP is the only scholarship scheme in the world to receive such high-level recognition.

As part of the CSFP programme, New Zealand offers New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships to candidates from developing Commonwealth countries for postgraduate study (Master’s and PhD) in New Zealand universities on a contestable basis. New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships are highly competitive and for top level graduates.

New Zealand Commonwealth Scholarships are funded the by the New Zealand Aid Programme and managed by the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade. The selection process in New Zealand is managed by Universities New Zealand.

New Zealand Commonwealth Scholars can only study at these New Zealand universities:

Application process

Each Commonwealth government has designated a national agency for the operation of Commonwealth Scholarships. For information specific to your country including application process, closing dates and management of the Scholarships, follow the links below to your country’s scholarship information page or visit the Universities New Zealand website.

Please also contact the national agency in your home country for more information.

Eligible Countries for the Commonwealth Scholarship

Africa Americas Asia Pacific
Botswana Antigua and Barbuda Bangladesh Cook Islands
Cameroon Barbados India Kiribati
Ghana Belize Malaysia Nauru
Kenya Dominica Maldives Niue
Lesotho Grenada Pakistan Papua New Guinea
Malawi Guyana Sri Lanka Samoa
Mauritius Jamaica   Solomon Islands
Mozambique St Kitts and Nevis   Tokelau
Namibia St Lucia   Tonga
Nigeria St Vincent and the Grenadines   Tuvalu
Rwanda Trinidad and Tobago   Vanuatu
Sierra Leone      
South Africa*